10 Perfect Reads for Presidents’ Day

Presidents’ Day sneaked up on us this year! While our federal government officially calls this American holiday “Washington’s Birthday”, it has come to be recognized as a time to pay tribute to both past and present Presidents. How is your family spending this holiday? Why not use the opportunity to share a related book with your kiddo? Red Apple Reading has 10 book recommendations for you and your youngster this Presidents’ Day.

If I were president

If I Were President  (Catherine Stier) Young elementary aged students will enjoy imagining with the cast of characters in this book what it would be like to be President of the United States. Provides a peak into the duties and responsibilities the President faces on a daily basis.

 

 

DuckForPresident_h425Duck for President (Doreen Cronin ) Fans of Click, Clack, Moo and Giggle, Giggle, Quack will love this funny look at the political process! Duck is tired of working hard on the farm and decides to make a career move (eventually winning the Presidency!). But being President is hard work and Duck eventually returns to the farm. A fun read for 4-8 year olds.

 

george did it

 

George Did It (Suzanne Tripp Jurmain) This books provides a glimpse into Washington’s initial reaction to taking on the presidency. 2nd – 5th graders will enjoy hearing a more personal account of our first president’s life.

 

 

thGTWCG2JQPresidents & U.S. Government (Various) Are you looking for a fun way to help your children memorize the past Presidents of the United States? This book/cd combo. contains songs that help students recite the presidents by last name, inauguration date or number. Also includes songs about the different branches of government.

 

 

who-was-george-washington-roberta-edwards-book-cover-art

Who Was George Washington? (Roberta Edwards) A nice biography in the Who Was series of books. Kids will learn about President Washington in this interesting, kid-friendly biography. Also contains several black and white illustrations that youngsters will enjoy. For children 8-12 years old.

 

 

thIDP3Z06MLooking at Lincoln (Maira Kalman) Readers learn about our 16th president’s life through the eyes of a little girl who is researching Abraham Lincoln. This creative book introduces young students to Lincoln‘s legacy! A good read for kindergarten – 3rd graders.

 

 

9780307746641Magic Tree House #47: Abe Lincoln at Last  (Mary Pope Osborne) Annie and Jack travel all the way back to 1861 in this installment of the Magic Tree House series. Can they help a nation in crisis? The older elementary crowd will enjoy reading this exciting tale.

 

 

bda554de77a2969adf1b7ea6b47de913

Arthur Meets the President: An Arthur Adventure (Marc Brown) Young children will join Arthur as he visits Washington D.C. to meet the President and recite his winning essay aloud. A great way to kick start a conversation about presidents with your kiddos!

 

 

PresidentialPets_400Presidential Pets: The Weird, Wacky, Little, Big, Scary, Strange Animals That Have Lived In The White House  (Julia Moberg) 8-12 year olds will love learning about the animals who have resided in the White House throughout the years. Also includes fun cartoon drawings along with presidential stats – making this book a joy to read!

 

 

The-White-House-Kids-Rhatigan-Joe-9781936140800

White House Kids (Joe Rhatigan) Students find out what it’s like to grow up in the White House in this interesting account about children and grandchildren who have lived at 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. A good book for 3rd-7th graders.